Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

JLH 10 Watt class A amplifier
JLH 10 Watt class A amplifier
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 3rd January 2019, 06:15 AM   #5491
Ian Finch is offline Ian Finch  Australia
diyAudio Member

I suspect your boss was humouring you, Nigel. As a cadet industrial chemist myself once, my boss would mock me in front of colleagues if I resorted to wafty analogies rather than get down to the facts and let a need to use them create a useful understanding. Loose and amusing analogies can pique someone's interest in the unknown but in my case, it was more an attempt to skip the mathematics and "baffle 'em with BS", as he might have indelicately put it.
Old 3rd January 2019, 11:13 AM   #5492
martyh is offline martyh  United States
diyAudio Member

I apologize if this has already been covered but I can’t find it in the thread.
Has anyone used the original 1969 circuit as a headphone amp for 600 ohm phones? Playing around in spice and using a single 30V rail it looks like it will do 140mw or so into that load which is plenty for my needs. I did notice though that HF extension and phase behavior seem to be changed so I’m wondering about stability and I can’t figure out how to check the phase margin in this circuit.
Thanks,
Marty
Old 3rd January 2019, 12:01 PM   #5493
nigel pearson is offline nigel pearson  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member