Best Class Amp for 4ohm Speakers?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All-

I'm a total noob but have been very interested in building an amp to drive a set of 4ohm speakers. Is there an amp topology that is better suited to driving lower impedance speakers?

I've been researching the Boenicke W5 and am much more of a woodworker than an electronics guy; I plan on building a clone of these speakers as they are way out of my price range ($5000 - $10,000 pr)

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

These don't seem to be the most sensitive speakers... Details from his website:

Boenicke W5 Standard
Sensitivity: 83-86 dB / watt / m depending on frequency
Nom. impedance: 4 ohms

5.25″ long throw bass driver, tuned to 65*Hz,*1st order crossover
3″ widebander, 1st order high pass filter, Rear ambient tweeter

As far as wattage I do not know?! I remember reading a review where Boenicke himself stated that "they love power"... I'm including the specs on the three drivers of the speakers here, which should help:

Fountek FE85 (full range front driver)
Power Handling (RMS): 12 Watts
Power Handling (max): 25 Watts
Impedance: 8 ohms
Sensitivity: 85.7 dB

Tang Band 13-1761S (rear tweeter)
Power Handling (RMS): 12 Watts
Power Handling (max): 25 Watts
Impedance: 8 ohms
Sensitivity: 85.7 dB

Peerless SLS (side woofer)
Power Handling (RMS): 80 Watts
Power Handling (max): 150 Watts
Impedance: 4 ohms
Sensitivity: 87.8 dB

Oddly enough these drivers are very inexpensive (given the speakers' price) but the overall result has been rated very highly. The internals are more high-end (wiring, crossover parts)