Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

HK990 right channel runs hotter
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 22nd October 2016, 03:11 PM   #1
jkasch is offline jkasch  United States
diyAudio Member

Default HK990 right channel runs hotter

I have an HK990 that functions properly but the right channel runs 10 degrees F hotter than the left when measured at the heat sinks. Is this enough to be concerned about? (I'm a novice at circuit level electronics, so it's something I don't feel qualified to chase down and repair if it is.)

Also, if anyone knows of a good technician within 75 miles or so of Lansng, MI that would be good at servicing this unit, I would appreciate the referral. (Blackies in Grand Rapids, MI is the closest authorized HK service center, but I wasn't overly impressed with them.)

Thanks for your thoughts.
Old 22nd October 2016, 03:17 PM   #2
Mooly is offline Mooly  United Kingdom
diyAudio Moderator

10F difference sounds pretty small tbh if you say that the heatsink on one side may for example be 120F and the other 130F.

A very small difference in bias current between the channels would account for something like that, as would any asymmetry in the physical layout internally.

Based on just a 10 degree difference I don't think you have anything to worry over. You could check and compare bias currents for interest though.
Old 23rd October 2016, 12:32 AM   #3
diyAudio Member