Need Advice on Capacitor Replacement + Other

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey all. As some of you may know from a previous post, I'm working on a Fender Rhodes Suitcase Piano with a 100W Peterson amplifier. I have been able to locate many of the parts I need to restore/repair the amp, but I'm having a couple issues with finding some specific electrolytic capacitors, as I'm trying to replace all of them since they're so old. I know my questions may seem obvious to most of you, but they're not to me, as I'm a novice and still learning.

The problem I'm having is with the +/- 15 Volt Regulator board. On this board are 4 capacitors, 2 @ 1000uf and 2 @ 500uf, along with 7815/7915 regulators and 3A diodes.

My question is can I go up in capacitance? Or, even lower (use a 470uf cap in place of the 500uf). All 4 of these capacitors are rated at 90C. The only capacitors in these values I have been able to find are rated at 85C. They are axial. I have debated about installing radial caps, but am apprehensive about the leads being too short. I "can" drill some new holes in the board in order to install 3 of the radial caps, but on one there is really no way that I can do this. I'm trying to stick with axial caps to make the job easier. I would like to use 105C , axial caps, but I can only find higher capacitance value caps: 560uf, 680uf, 1100uf, 1200uf and a lower 470uf. I know I can go higher in voltage, but can I go higher (or lower in the case of the 500uf cap) in capacitance without putting strain upstream on other components?