Pioneer SX-838 -- random no sound output, clicking relay

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello All,

I'm new to this board. I have been looking for a place on the internet to get some help with this problem for a few weeks now, and this site looks the most promising. I wish I had known about it earlier.

Hopefully, you guys can help me out.

I have an old Pioneer SX-838 that i've been using for a few years now. I think my dad bought it new in '76 or so. I love this amp, but lately it's been really annoying.

You know that relay that clicks on when you first turn on the system, letting you know the sound output is working...well mine seems to randomly click on and off. The sound will go off and on with the clicking. I used to be able to turn the volume all the way down, then the relay would click back on and everything would be fine for another few minutes. Right now, I can't get the relay to click on at all.

Does anyone have any clues to what this problem is? Somebody had mentioned maybe the output transistors on the heat sink. I see where they are, but don't know how to test them. Could it be anything else?

I have found another unit for sale which I was thinking about using for parts, but it would be great i f I knew exactly what was wrong with mine.

Thanks for your time guys,

K.I.S.S.

No, I'm not making a pass. :dead: Hopefully you know what it means.

Look at the driver board...the one in the rear of the unit mounted vertically. There are four pots on it..the two close together in the center are the DC offset pots.