70's Pionner RCA plug replacement

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
70's Pioneer RCA plug replacement

Hi,

So 1st post! I'm new to the idea of DIY audio and electrical engineering and principles and have been keenly reading as much as I can since I decided to invest my free time into the subject about a year ago. I'm a computer engineer by trade and love learning so it keen great fun so far.

Anyway to the point, I've picked up some old Pioneer gear an SA 7100 and a SX 780 that I've been fixing up and one of the jobs that needs sorting is the RCA connections on the inputs have seen some use and the out-shields need to be replaced as the lugs that then connect to the buzz bar style earth have flexed once too much and have started to break off. I've been searching on Mouser but can't see anything similar that I can steal parts from. Has anyone seen anything like this that can be bought new?

The lugs need to be about 8mm long.
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Maybe someone might have faced an issue like this before? :xfingers: If not I'll have to engineer a grounding solution on the rear of the amp.

Thanks
Mark

Attachments

• IMG_20150830_093046566 (1).jpg
    IMG_20150830_093046566 (1).jpg
    360.2 KB · Views: 37
  • IMG_20150830_093108902.jpg
    IMG_20150830_093108902.jpg
    321 KB · Views: 38
  • IMG_20150830_093055807.jpg
    IMG_20150830_093055807.jpg
    318.3 KB · Views: 40
Last edited:
Maybe you can repair the breaks by soldering?

Hi, Unfortunately there is a little flex when connecting the RCA wires which then breaks the solder joint. I then end up with a little bit of solder floating around inside :(