Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Class AB Amp Questions.
Class AB Amp Questions.
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 26th July 2015, 08:16 AM   #1
FellCrustacean8 is offline FellCrustacean8  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Class AB Amp Questions.

Im new to amp building. And i am wanting to build 4 class ab amps. Can someone please give a very clear explanation of how they work and some formulas to building them. I need 2 300w RMS amps and 2 150w RMS amps. I am bi-amping a pair of speakers i have designed. Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.
Old 26th July 2015, 05:45 PM   #2
nigelwright7557 is offline nigelwright7557  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

They usually have a LTP front end into a VAS stage.
The VAS goes into a Vbe multiplier.
You can then have a driver stage or not.
Then you have the output pair(s) which can be quasi complimentary or just plain complimentary.
Old 26th July 2015, 06:02 PM   #3
sreten is offline sreten  United Kingdom
R.I.P.

Hi,

Details of the speaker ? The power seems excessive.

There is a lot to amplifier design and no short, simple guide.

rgds, sreten.
Old 26th July 2015, 10:31 PM   #4
Alan0354 is offline Alan0354  United States
Banned

If you ask this question, you need to buy the Audio Power Amplifiers by Bob Cordell.

I am a newbie also, I spent like half a year and I am only at the stage to power up my first power amp in the next day or two. You need a lot more than just asking like this.
Old 26th July 2015, 11:04 PM   #5
nigelwright7557 is offline nigelwright7557  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Be careful which amplifier you decide to build.