Very Simple Hybrid Ampifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello

Inspired by few recent projects I have decided to try a very simple/basic hybrid to stard with.
I like the Hitachi VAS sound so why not to stick a triode input in front of it ?

I have never worked on the vacuum tubes before so I would be very gratefull if someone can guide me to the right dirrection and give me some advice.

I have supplied the amp from 2x30Vac transformer PSU unit, the heater is supplied temporrary from the lab psu. The thd figures arent great but the amp sound suprisingly good, I was really blown away at the first time I hooked it up to the speakers (or maybe I was too excited).

I am going to build another version with another LTP stage, so I would be able to set the triode ''working point'' in more correct way.

The animal:

-input 12AU7 --> biased at 1.7mA total (two triodes), the cathodes are at +1,8V, the anode load resistors are only 3.3k (prapobly it is wrong but with the simple/education version it must be at that point)
-VAS --> Hitachi biased at 9-10mA total, looks that 5mA is enough to drive correctly the pair of renesas mosfets.
-output --> lateral mosfets from Renesas

Special thanks for OS and Valery for helping me!!

Attachments

• VSHA simple.png
    VSHA simple.png
    64.1 KB · Views: 6,331
  • 1k cap load.png
    1k cap load.png
    32.9 KB · Views: 557
  • SR.png
    SR.png
    32.1 KB · Views: 562
  • clipping 10k.png
    clipping 10k.png
    37.8 KB · Views: 609
  • clipping 1k.png
    clipping 1k.png
    37.4 KB · Views: 4,209
  • 20kHz.png
    20kHz.png
    41.7 KB · Views: 4,480
  • thd15v.png
    thd15v.png
    22.8 KB · Views: 4,835
  • DSC_3133.jpg
    DSC_3133.jpg
    846.6 KB · Views: 6,121
  • bode simple.png
    bode simple.png
    31.4 KB · Views: 454
  • 20kHz 60V.png
    20kHz 60V.png
    35.5 KB · Views: 585
Last edited: