Acceptable noise level at amp output

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Today I assisted a friend who was expressing some concern about the amount of hiss produced by his new Sony receiver. This is a brand new model, 6 channel AC3/DTS amp (not sure of the model, sorry). We found that hiss was quite noticable on the output of the amp under normal listening conditions.

We had the amp set up and were listening to a DVD. With no 'absolute level' to work by, we set the volume level to a typical sort of movie level (hard to believe I'm a scientist, I know ;-)), and I measured the noise output at the speakers. I found in 2 channel mode 13-17mV rms at the speaker. This level was acceptable at the listening position. In AFD mode, which seems to be required for AC3 discs etc, the noise measured 28-31mV (hiss!) In the Sony 'movie' mode, the noise was 39-45mV (very noticable hiss!). Incidentally, this noise did not depend on the input selected - it was the same with even nothing plugged into the amp. The noise would increase with an increase in volume knob setting. In mute mode the output was 3mV (silence is golden!).

We found that anything above 20mV or so with his speakers was objectionable.

My question to those amp designers out there is what is classed as 'acceptable' for an amp? Of course whether noise is heard at the listening position will depend on the sensitivity of the speakers, still, this Sony seems to produce quite a lot of noise. At the moment I have no measurements from any other amps.

We also found that the noise depended on a number of settings on the amp. By changing the centre channel speaker setting from a phantom type mode to 'large' as well as selecting a separate sub-woofer output, the noise went from 30mV or so down to an acceptable 20mV. Presumably due to reduced channel mixing required.

I'm just glad he doesn't own 99dB/W speakers!