diyAudio

diyAudio (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/index.php)
-   Solid State (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/solid-state/)
-   -   sx-Amp and nx-Amp (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/solid-state/236522-sx-amp-nx-amp.html)

dennismiller55 11th May 2020 10:45 PM

My NX Build

1 Attachment(s)
Before committing this project to a proper enclosure I temporarily laid out my amp on plywood for listening test. This also gives me some practice on wiring as recommended in Andrew's "Ground Loops" pdf on his website hifisonix.com.

It sounds great. I am not good with fancy descriptions.

One question on the Power Supply and Speaker Mute Board. There is a good 3 or 4 second delay before the SSLR engages. However, turn-off time is not instantaneous. I estimate about a half a second before the indicator LED goes out and the music is muted.

It is my understanding that the mute turn-off time should be in the region of 50 micro-seconds.

Bonsai 14th May 2020 10:07 AM

Hello Dennis,

Perhaps my description of the muting function should have been clearer. There is a slight delay before the speakers are disconnected by the solid state relay during a normal power down cycle. The 50us really refers to the mosfet Relay + drive circuit switching time. Ideally you want to keep this below c. 100 us in order to remain within the energy rating of the mosfet.

When the amplifier powers down normally, the rails will collapse and 50 or 100 milli seconds later the speakers will disengage.

If the amplifier develops a fault eg short circuit across the speaker or a large DC offset, the protection circuit will switch very quickly - within 10s of microseconds.

The important thing is, you should not get any loud thumps when you power down normally.

dennismiller55 14th May 2020 10:17 AM

Thanks Andrew. I understand now. The amp is dead quiet after powering down. Looks like I have a fully functional amp.

Kaplaars 23rd May 2020 12:58 PM

3 Attachment(s)