Replacing caps in my hk770

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi.I have just bought a Harman kardon hk770 daul mono stereo amp.I paid $20.00 and i seems to work ok.Hard to complain for the price but i noticed some poping sounds coming through my speakers after playing it for awhile.When i opened it up it looked the the caps have leaked as they are stained on the bottom.I also notice one side is hotter than the other.Can anyone tell buy the pictures if they should be replaced.I am not sure if they are original but if they are...they would be at least 30 years old.It still has plenty of power.8x 4700uf(m)50v 4x2200uf(m)63v elan.Are these caps hard to find and are they expensive.Thanks Sorry for all the questions.Total Newbie

Attachments

• IMG_0801.JPG
    IMG_0801.JPG
    82.4 KB · Views: 129
  • IMG_0802.JPG
    IMG_0802.JPG
    89.4 KB · Views: 102
  • IMG_0803.JPG
    IMG_0803.JPG
    105 KB · Views: 103
  • IMG_0804.JPG
    IMG_0804.JPG
    105 KB · Views: 115
  • IMG_0805.JPG
    IMG_0805.JPG
    86.5 KB · Views: 102
  • IMG_0806.JPG
    IMG_0806.JPG
    84.3 KB · Views: 70
  • IMG_0807.JPG
    IMG_0807.JPG
    81.3 KB · Views: 71
...it looked the the caps have leaked as they are stained on the bottom....
Make sure that you are not just looking at some glue that was holding the base of the caps for mechanical stability. Some glue used that long ago started out clear, then turns brown-ish after a long time in use. Regardless that, replacing them is a good idea b/c they are so old.

The caps are standard value, and probably standard size (can't tell size from the pics). The caps will cost $2-4 each, depending on manufacturer and where you buy them. Try to find the same lead spacing and diameter, if possible.

Digikey, newark, mouser, have search engines that work very well to locate the correct value and size of most capacitors.