Need help with 60hz hum/ground loop. Schematic attached.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This is my first amp design. Im not new to electronics but I am new to audio amps.

This is just a simple class A amp (schematic attached). The common-emitter stage is a BC517 and the common-collector stage is a NTE261 as is the current source. The bias current is set by Rbias (obviously). Rails are +/-12V.

As you can see the amp is just has through hole components on a radio shack pcb and the transformer is just mounted on the wood. Earth is not connected since there is no chassis shielding (since it's constructed on wood).

Here are some things I noticed about the 60hz hum:

1. Hum amplitude increases as Ibias is increased.
2. There is no hum when nothing is connected to the RCA jacks. (input cap open circuit).

Please advise. I can take any measurement (voltage or current) or signal (I have an oscilloscope).

Attachments

• schematic.png
    schematic.png
    18.5 KB · Views: 286
  • amp.jpg
    amp.jpg
    255.5 KB · Views: 281
Last edited:
I'm not sure if this is going to turn into my blog or whatever but after some further testing it seems like whenever there is any kind of DC path to ground at the input the hum is there. The higher the impedance, the lower the hum. Obviously if I short the input to ground the hum is at it's loudest.

What could be the cause of this? Input impedance too high? Too low? input AC cap value? IQ of input stage?

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
Do you get the hum with the input shorted (using RCA plug with shorted terminals) ?

If the amp is silent with the input open as you mention and hums with the input shorted then I would be looking at a wiring problem and the points you have.

Is it a hum or a buzz ? Pure 60Hz hum will be a very deep and pure tone. If there are harmonics present it will be harsher and at 120Hz.