Suggestions for mono block amplifier?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Dear All,

I just finished my first amplifier ever. And it sounds wonderful to my opinion:D It's based on the L12-2 amplifier board often offered on ebay.

But I still got some transformers and capacitors left:
2* 300VA 2x22V transformers
4* Mallory 17000MFD @ 40V
4* (oversized) Sprague 50000MFD @40V
8* Philips 15000MFD @ 40V

I was thinking to build a set of mono block amplifiers, not too fancy but nice enough for my monitor audio RX2 speakers. Can some one help me point out some amplifier kits? I am still a rookie so i don't think I can handle a build completely from scratch.

Hope you can help me:)

-Duco

my vote goes for a JLH 1969 Class A amplifier. Last time I looked there were pcb's and kits available on ebay. Here's an example from a seller with 100% feedback rating:
http://www.ebay.ca/itm/2pcs-High-qu...Components&hash=item1e6be3cea0#ht_3494wt_1413

The circuit is simple and elegant - learning about how it works is worthwhile.

The Class-A Amplifier Site

It's capacitor coupled output so built-in speaker protection. If you use 2N3055 power output transistors they should be easy to find at a reasonable price and you shouldn't have to worry about amplifier stability/frequency compensation since they are relatively 'slow'. The amp has an excellent reputation for sound quality.

The Hiraga amps are also excellent, but I believe they are more prone to power supply hum at the output.

With any Class A amplifier you'll need to get some heatsinks. They will need to be large. But they don't need to be fancy so look around for eBay options.

and I'm willing to follow my own advice - I'm currently building a dual-mono JLH 1969 myself.

It's one of the most popular amps of all time and there's a long standing thread about it here: http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/solid-state/3075-jlh-10-watt-class-amplifier.html