P3A-More upgrades

Joined 2010
Paid Member
There's so many NAD models, different design types and groupings, that we can't easily compare or evaluate them unless we have the model to hand or we're expert enough to understand what the designers intended from their topologies and component types/values.

I'm already at a disadvantage as I'm no expert and I haven't heard one in use but the 214 design has a CFA topology, regulated front end power supplies and an EF triple output stage with no tricks so I'd expect a very clean, low distortion sound with lots of grunt, as needed for bridged mode operation. There's a lot of capability and comprehensive protection there but not much is on offer for someone seeking audiophile quality sound. I can understand how a P3a, even the published website version we have all seen and copied, would beat this and many other, more expensive commercial models, on sound quality.

P3a may appear to contradict every current audio design maxim in its old school simplicity but that's where it's strong appeal as a DIY project and performer originate.

Long time ago I wanted to build this wonderful amplifier. I upload some photos of it..I
thank Stephie B., my friend, for helping me get original transistors for the input stage. Getting some old reciclying parts, at last! I finished the amp which differs from Rod Elliott's only by adding a current mirror to the differential pair collectors. I supplied the amp with +/-40, using C5200 and A1943 in the output stage, I left bias current at 30 mA for each transistor maybe bias is high but temperature through them kept normal. Rod does not recommend the Vbe multiplier is attached to the main heatsink since overcompesation can occur causing crossover distortion due to the complementary feedback pair or Sziklai pair used in the output stage. The sound is very good.

Attachments

• IMG_20190306_110127.jpg
    IMG_20190306_110127.jpg
    803.9 KB · Views: 474
  • IMG_20190306_105945.jpg