diyAB Amp The "Honey Badger" build thread

the calculation for power is as follows....p=(2x power xR)..square root the total...then divide the answer by the square root of 2(1.414)to get the ACv of the secondary.... so 2x200 x8=3200..sq root of 3200=56.5vdc then divide by 1.414=40v AC...

That's for a 100% efficiency output stage and perfect power supplies. Most amps will loose 10 - 15% and supplies will sag a couple volts. 45VAC will probably put out around 180W RMS at clipping.

imho he will need more psu voltage ...one of my leach amps with 2x 45V ac - reaches max. approx. 135W @8R ...

That's either a really inefficient amp or very saggy supplies. I haven't built the Honeybadger but I did build it's big brother, the Slewmaster with Wolverine inputs. It's output was 180W with 45VAC secondaries which produced +/- 63VDC rails.

Hi all, I am new to this thread. Is there an LTSPICE schematic of the Honey Badger (and associated models)? I would like to give it a go in Simulation before building it. Also, I would like to use it as a base of experimentation to try some ideas.

NOTE: I have also posted this question in the main Honey Badger thread.
Thanks!
- Sandro

Finnished the PSU tonight. But i had to change out the transformer. The first one had a lot of hum. But i had 2 of them. Now it's silent. PSU outputs +/-56.7Vdc with 224V mains.

Attachments

• IMG_20191019_001752.jpg
    IMG_20191019_001752.jpg
    604.9 KB · Views: 377
Finnished the PSU tonight. But i had to change out the transformer. The first one had a lot of hum. But i had 2 of them. Now it's silent. PSU outputs +/-56.7Vdc with 224V mains.

Which producer made that transformer? Once I had to return Talema transformer purchased from RS. It would be good to know which brands should be avoided as I intend to buy now two 1kVA 2x50V TRIAD toroids (VPT100-1000) from mouser. TRIAD I think is located in Sri Lanka. I wonder if anyone here used TRIAD toroids.

cheers,