Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

Hello all and Question about MOSFETs
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 13th October 2009, 06:46 PM   #1
Magz is offline Magz  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Hello all and Question about MOSFETs

Hello all, newbie here but frequent contributor to Audiokarma and Audio Asylum under the name Maxamillion (someone already had it here).

I have a question regarding the MOSFET outputs in a low-frequency equalizer that is used with Infinity RSIIb speakers (early 1980s vintage). The equalizer was sold with the speakers and is used to boost the very low frequencies and to help the transition from the two 10" poly woofers to the planar EMIM midranges.

I have extensively modded the equalizer, replacing all the resistors with 1/2W PRP and TX2575 resistors, replacing and bypassing all the old electrolytic caps, upgrading the output coupling caps and wiring, and installing Cree SiC rectifier diodes. The equalizer now sounds MUCH more transparent than previously, but I can still tell when it is in line between my Supratek tube preamp and Gilmore Raptor class D monoblocks. I'm wondering if the original MOSFETS, VN40AD designation, have a more modern equivalent that might sound better. The VN40AD is no longer made, so I'll eventually need to find a replacement if they ever die. I have a few VN40AF which are also obsolete but I suspect they will sound pretty close to the ADs.

Any help from the MOSFET experts is greatly appreciated!
Old 14th October 2009, 12:50 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hmm, must have been a tough question. Let me re-phrase: