NAD 3020A Issues

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all!

Newbie here just needed some advice.

Used to be the proud owner of some B&W S3 600 Range 5.1 system & Onkyo TX-SR 606 beautifulness but I had to give that and and my house up a few months ago (damn economy!)

I've had to go el' cheapo, el' second-hando for my current audio -

I think I did quite well, one of the pieces of kit I've picked up is a NAD 3020A Amplifier (Mission 700 Speakers, the later ones). The first 24 horus of use, brilliant. Warm, rich, inviting soundstage with a certain richness that makes one feel almost smothered in undertones of low-end subtlety.

VERY different sound to what I've been used to, gone is the light and detaled extended high end unfortunately, but it's still a very good sound for such cheap kit.

Phono stage is good also, Rotel RP-830 with a new Ortofon OM10 cartridge sings along nicely. I like this combination as the OM10 cart can be bias toward the high end, and the amp can be a bit dark. Marry the two and they seem to cancel out their differences and portray a rather open and light sound.

......UNFORTUNATELY the amp has developed issues.

After approx 10 seconds of being powered on the right speaker begins to hiss and crackle. This crackle is continuous and notably unchanged irrespective of which input is selected, or whether the volume is being adjusted. Same counds for Mono and Loudness buttons - doesn't impact the crackly hiss. Tested bass, treble, and balance controls, also. Nada.

I disconnected the Pre-Power links, and the hiss is gone. It is definitely an issue in the Preamp section.

The crackle gets louder and louder progressively over approx 30 second period. The left speaker is unaffected.