Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Solid State Talk all about solid state amplification.

ETI 477 resurrected but with problems.
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th December 2008, 04:58 PM   #1
jonnoh is offline jonnoh  Australia
diyAudio Member

Question ETI 477 resurrected but with problems.

Hi there, I have recently resurrected an ETI 5000 power amp which I made what must have been more than 20 years ago. I am not an expert at electronics, but have done some study in the field yonks ago. I see other threads relating to this amp which suggest it is pretty useless. I must have been deaf at the time as I can't recall it sounding that bad. My speakers weren't that good; perhaps that's why.

At any rate, turned it on with no load and first thing it did was blow one of the fuses to the preamp (which I was using). Changed that and tested voltages and so on and it seemed okay. The left channel driver transistor heatsink was a little hotter than the right. Tried it with a load and the first thing it did was trip the speaker protection and give a puff of smoke - left channel only. Turns out it cooked R7 R18 (270R) as well as both BF 469. I changed all the electrolytics, semiconductors except for the mosfets, as well as the cooked resistors.