Hill Audio documentation - anyone to contribute?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,

I own a couple of legacy Hill Audio products (Multimix, Datum, LC1200) and found it quite hard to find documents such as manuals, schematics, old brochures, pictures etc. I would like to make it easier for all those guys who own equipment of this brand and I want to put a simple website together with all documents I already found and those i can find. After all, this stuff is worth maintaining it or even customozing it (really love the Multimix).

If anyone has any Hill Audio documents to contribute, please do me and other guys out there a favor and send it to me (grooverider68@yahoo.com) ....I'll put it together and will announce the website once ready. Best would be pdf or jpg.

Thanks to all of you!

Grooverider

Hi I am new to this but wonder if anyone can help I have a Hill Audio LC1200 power amp with a strange fault Loud Buzzing noise from both speakers if I disconnect the HT from one channels (does.t matter which) the other channel then works fine !!. Did you manage to get a schematic I would be most grateful if you could let me have a scan/pdf of it. Any help will be much appreciated.

Dave

I feel terrible. I was the test dept. manager at Hill audio for a number of years and worked on all their amps & mixing desks. I feel terrible because I used to have all the schematics but binned them.

The main fault I found on the LC amp range was around the fan driver. There's a modification under the PCB around the heatsink of the device that feeds the DC cooling fans. If the fans stop working or you get buzzing on both channels I suggest you replace the electrolytic capacitor UNDER the pcb and a tantalum capacitor on the top side (I think it's on the top, might not be). Also, if memory serves, there's a zenner diode. Check that too.