Help to fix C-Audio RA3000 Amplifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi everyone,
I’m new to this, so I hope I’ve done this right.
One of our band’s amps, tan RA3000 has died on us. The symptoms are similar to another member’s, who I believe had help from Lee. The power light comes on, the fan whirrs and the lowest set of level leds (-40) come on, plus the r/h channel’s -20 led, but the protect circuit stays on, and there is nothing at the outputs.
I have tried a signal at the inputs and varied the input level controls to no effect – the leds don’t alter. Looking inside shows no obvious damage, and the fuses are all okay.
I would try to sort it out myself if I had a diagram, but any help that might get it going quickly would be appreciated. I tried to email Lee but as I have just joined was not able to.
Hope someone can help.
Thanks

Grrr - i typed a long explanation then lost it !

here it is bullet-pointed:

C-audio RA series amps have a protection circuit that is very sensitive to damp (including damp dust on the transistor legs).

1. Establish that the actual amp channeles are fine.

a quick but brutal way to do this is:
a) replace the 80V channel fuses with quick blow glass 2A fuses.
(do a channel at a time, remember to discharge the HT caps trough a 47R/25W (say), resistor - or you will get a surprise.

b) locate the soft start resistor (depending on the board revision, this is either a 3inch long ceramic at the front, or a aluminium cased 47R/50W mounted to the heatsink, and bypass it with a wire link.
(remember THERE IS MAINS GOING THROUGH THIS RESISTOR!!).

c) turn the amp on for a second, then off again.
if any fuses blew, then you have a channel down.

d) if its ok so far, turn it on again. carefully test for +/- 75 to 85 V at both end of each fuse.
(use either of the black binding posts as 0V ref.)