Does preamp wattage effect power amps wattage?

If my preamp has 5 watts of output and I run it into a 100 watt amp, will the 100 watt amp produce more wattage?

I have a couple setups like this but they have always run safely. I can't really say I notice a volume increase with these high output preamp setups but they surely sound fuller on the speaker end of it all.

I'm not an expert on this so take my words with care, but anyway:

Preamps have 2 uses: 1. have high input impedance to reduce stress on source and low output impedance. 2. yield the same output voltage level for all sources (which in general have different output levels, compare phono pre with a cd-player for example) ; of course this includes attenuation.

So there is besides voltage amplification no amplification at all. Hence the power rating of the pre is completely pointless and leads in no way to higher power of the power amp.

The only influence I can imagine is that the output level of the pre is too high for the power amp and it starts to clip. Not a nice feature at all.

Cheers, Hannes

1400WATTSRMS+ said:
If my preamp has 5 watts of output and I run it into a 100 watt amp, will the 100 watt amp produce more wattage?

Good questions!

The preamp power will not effect amplifier power.
Preamps are designed to provide a voltage level to the amplifier, and deliver whatever power level is needed to maintain that voltage.

100 or 105 watts wouldn't make any difference to the sound anyway.

A 100 watt amplifier will not be putting 100 watts into the speaker either under normal circumstances.
It'll average closer to 3 or 4 watts.
The 100 watt rating allows you to compare similar amplifiers and their chances of distorting the sound (clipping in this case) during brief, extra loud bursts of sound (like a soundtrack 'explosion' or maybe a loud drumbeat).

I am using a very small amp that produces about 3-5 watts as a preamp into a push/pull amp that can push 90 watts RMS into an 8 ohm load.