NAD C370 power-on problem

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am having problems with power-on cycle on my NAD C370 amp. The delay between power-on and deactivation of protection (the moment when the amp unmutes sound and amber LED turns green) increased to 3-5 minutes. After that, amp seems to be working fine. The problem does not affect the sound.

My questions are:

1. Where can I get schematics for protection circuitry? I saw power amp schematics on this board, but it did not include protection curcuits.

2. Any recommendations on where to look for problem first? I must admit I am not very experienced in DIY electronics, but I have basic skills and know how to use multimeter. I feel I would be able to repair the amp... if only I knew what exactly is wrong with it.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Andrei

A bit late but may help someone:

Attachments

• nad-c370-upc1237ha-protection_module.jpg
    nad-c370-upc1237ha-protection_module.jpg
    91 KB · Views: 899
Nad C370

Hello!
As I do work for a NAD Dealer, this might help:

Your problem is probably due to The Electrolytic Capacitors on the Speaker Protect Board - (you are in the right place)!

These Electros get overheated by heat from the Zener diode, which is mounted at the top of the Pcb, and they then dry up, losing their value.
My fix: To replace all these electros, and remove the Zener Diode from the front/top of the Pcb, then resolder it back onto the back/
bottom of the board, so letting it's heat go elsewhere.
(make sure of it's correct polarity).
In our Opinion, this is a VERY bad design point of the C370, as it
has the effect of a built-in 'time bomb', and the Amp will eventually fail no go. I can't see why NAD would have done this.
I have now repaired several the same, and this works really well.
Hope this helps You!
Regards, Telnet.