How to measure port tuning?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
This is probably a total noob question, but I have not been able to sort this out via internet searches.

I'm trying to confirm that my bass reflex port length is correct, I was going for 38Hz using a 2" port with an external flare, and the length is roughly 7.5"/19cm.

Figured I would verify this using REW and a UMIK-1, held the mic flush with the port and ran a measurement between 20-200Hz. The result was the blue line. A similar measurement without a port at all (removing the tube and the flange, holding the mic flush with the resultant cabinet hole) gave the purple line.

I had been expecting to see a hump at the tuning frequency around 38Hz, instead the blue line rises to 90Hz.

So either my figures for tube length are completely wrong, or I am misusing the measurement tool- can anyone point out what's going on?

Y0AAaQx.jpg

You can measure the impedance, good for tuning and damping.

you measurement suggest it is too high tuned

It is very difficult with ported enclosures to get proper low frequency measurements because of room reflections.

But you can measure output directly near the woofer dust cap . Where there is a minimum that is the the resulting tuning frequency

I'm doing a nearfield measurement, the mic is literally stuck right up to the hole of the port, which as far as I know should avoid room reflection problems...

I'm not trying to measure overall response yet (i.e. not looking at woofer/driver), simply trying to confirm that the port length is correct, because I was not sure how to handle flared ports.

Last edited:
Just another Moderator
Joined 2003
Paid Member
I've attached an example of using impedance measurement to determine the port tuning.