Speaker Measurement Hardward Recs for Linux

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi, all,

SHORT VERSION: Someone please tell me what hardware to buy to use Vituix CAD (and other FOSS speaker measurement stuff) under Linux. I mean, really. I don't need links. I can do the googling. But just tell me what to buy, please! Cost is not a major issue but isn't irrelevant.

LONG VERSION: I'm just getting into building speakers but am already feeling pretty serious about it. I've done a fair bit of building of preamps, headphone amps, etc. I'm a pretty good woodworker. too, so it's been fun to merge these two projects. So I'm getting to a point I may want to build some very nice speakers.

Project One was the SEAS-CURV monitors from Troels Gravesen. They aren't quite done but look gorgeous. (Cherry veneer over MDF. Pix to follow.)

Project Two may well be the Ulawatu speakers from Curt Campbell. My wife is learning to play percussion, so these could work really well in her practice system. (I.e., they play loud.) Looking at the measured response, though, it looks to me like I may want to measure the response and tweak the crossover. (Bad hump 100-200Hz that might warrant a notch filter.) But I might build something else.

Whatever! Unless I'm just going to continue building kits blindly, I need measurement stuff. I'm a FOSS person---Linux user since 2000 or so---and Vituix CAD looks like a good option from that point of view. But I'm finding it hard to tell what hardware to buy: mics, sound cards, etc. So help?? Cost is not a major issue but isn't irrelevant.

Thanks,
Riki

I've been using Unix since 1989 or so. Bought my first laptop in 1999, and my laptop has been running Linux since then. Am on my fifth laptop currently.