Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Software Tools SPICE, PCB CAD, speaker design and measurement software, calculators

Electronic circuit simulation on Linux -- which way should I go?
Electronic circuit simulation on Linux -- which way should I go? Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 14th February 2020, 09:00 AM   #1
mbrennwa is offline mbrennwa  Switzerland
diyAudio Member

Default Electronic circuit simulation on Linux -- which way should I go?

I am a complete noob when it comes to electronic circuit simulation, but I want to get into it. I wonder which software package / tools I should go with.

- I am a Linux user, and I am looking for software that runs natively on Linux (no Windows emulators or virtual machines)

- I don't want to start with with a badly limited toy. I prefer to walk the learning curve of a full tool once instead of starting over with new tools many times.

- Some compatibility in terms of netlists, device models, etc. with the mainstream tools would be useful.

- Interfacing with Python or Octave would be cool (for extended data processing or plotting).

- Which other features / aspects should I care about?

So far I have read about ngspice and Gnucap. I am sure there are others.

Any advice on where to go would be great!
Old 14th February 2020, 05:31 PM   #2
bordodynov is offline bordodynov  Belarus
diyAudio Member

See Spice OPUS
SPICE OPUS
Old 19th February 2020, 08:58 PM   #3
JoeAlders is offline JoeAlders  Netherlands
diyAudio Member

I am running LTspice XVII on my PCLinuxOS computer using WINE. The WINE install is pretty easy, no problems
when install it from the repo. Then on this site:

LTspice | Design Center | Analog Devices