Electronic circuit simulation on Linux -- which way should I go?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Joined 2005
Paid Member
I am a complete noob when it comes to electronic circuit simulation, but I want to get into it. I wonder which software package / tools I should go with.

- I am a Linux user, and I am looking for software that runs natively on Linux (no Windows emulators or virtual machines)

- I don't want to start with with a badly limited toy. I prefer to walk the learning curve of a full tool once instead of starting over with new tools many times.

- Some compatibility in terms of netlists, device models, etc. with the mainstream tools would be useful.

- Interfacing with Python or Octave would be cool (for extended data processing or plotting).

- Which other features / aspects should I care about?

So far I have read about ngspice and Gnucap. I am sure there are others.

Any advice on where to go would be great!

I am running LTspice XVII on my PCLinuxOS computer using WINE. The WINE install is pretty easy, no problems
when install it from the repo. Then on this site:

LTspice | Design Center | Analog Devices

Download the XVII version in a folder and run the .exe file using WINE by right clicking on the exe file and choose:
"Open with Wine Windows Program Loader"
You can get a lot of help here on this great forum when running into problems.

Being a long-time linuxuser as well I would go for LTSpice/Wine. With its integrated schematics editor it is very handy. Even after a long pause I quickly draw and simulate basic circuits within a few minutes. I want to play around with the circuit, component values etc. Thus a simulator with netlist entry only is a no-go for me. And btw, it is kind of quasi-standard here.

Last edited: