Ideal 3-Way Speaker Phase

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello!

I'm looking for help with my current build project. I've been using VirtuixCAD to model a custom crossover to replace the Dayton Audio pre-assembled one I've been using for a few years in my 3-Way speakers.

After assembling the crossover and installing it, I noticed that the mid driver's response just doesn't sound right. To me it sounds very flattened and neutered compared to what I'm used to. Voices, piano melodies, guitars, etc, don't seem to have the punch that they should, like there's a "hole" in the sound.

As this is my first time assembling my own crossover, I'm certain I've made more than a few mistakes this first time around, however I'm looking for help in order to determine what I might have did wrong and if my project is salvageable.

One thing that's a bit of a mystery to me is that I'm unsure what the "ideal" phase graph should look like for a 3-way system. I'm sure this is very 101 type stuff, especially for this forum, but any help would be appreciated as I've been working very hard on this for the last couple of weeks and would like to see this project come to a close in a satisfying way. I'm currently stuck with the old pre-built crossovers in the cabs because the ones that I've made simply don't sound right :(

Please let me know if there's any other information I need to share for this post to be helpful and thank you for your time.

Last edited by a moderator:
Apologies!! Here's a screen shot of the circuit and graphs:

Attachments

• VirtuixCAD Current.png
    VirtuixCAD Current.png
    521.8 KB · Views: 137