XSim vs. X Over Pro

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello all, I am new to the speaker building community and would like to say, thank you to all who have written and shared information. I have been reading for several months now and appreciate what I have learned.

I downloaded XSim, mainly to use the series notch filter tool, as X Over Pro does not show the effects of a notch filter in their frequency response. I downloaded the frd and zma files for 2 Dayton drivers, woofer and tweeter. I inserted the exact same 4th order crossover components with identical values into both X Sim and crossover Pro. Crossover Pro shows a net plot line jagged across the frequency range from 50 to 20000 Hertz, and running positive over the crossover points. Plus or minus for DB. X Sim has almost and identical line with the exception of it dropping 6db over the crossover points. So basically one is a half moon positive plot line through the crossover point and the other is a half moon negative. My question is, how can they be so completely opposite through this region?

Has anyone ever used either of these programs built the speakers and then measured the results? If so can you let me know how close the model was from the program versus the measurements taken after being built?

Thank you for reading and thank you in advance for any information you can provide. ML

Thank you, Erik and B-force for your response. I went back to it today and reversed polarity on the tweeter in XSim and the plots match. Hmmm I was under the impression that the tweeter and woofer should be correct with a 4th order. Am I mistaken???

Also, Has anyone ever used either of these programs built the speakers and then measured the results? If so can you let me know how close the model was from the program versus the measurements taken after being built?