Capture and Layout

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
jan , no just sharing my thoughts on going forward.
Ive been using Eagle for almost ten years, have completed many projects with it but the situtation looks ugly with Autocad's super locked down subscription.
At least I have an alternative with Orcad even if it is an old version. Did many projects with it too but can't run on any of the new windows. Runs under wine and OSX with Crossover.

using Eagle for almost ten years......but the situtation looks ugly with Autocad's super locked down subscription.

I have been using Eagle since DOS version 2.6, about 25 years. At the time the Cadsoft USA office was in Boca Raton Florida about a 5 minute drive from where I worked and went to school. I could drive over there for help and bug fixes.

I have made over 100 PC board designs including one that sold over 250K units. I'm still using Eagle 5.11 since pricing structure is now beyond the Tubelab budget. To make matters worse, none of the libraries created in V6.00 or later can be read by my old version.

Has anyone tried Design Spark V8.0 or 8.1? Will it still import old Eagle designs and libraries? I have created a lot of custom library parts in 25 years.

Im looking at returning to orcad capture and layout.

I used the very early Orcad stuff between tape / mylar and Eagle. We used Mentor Graphics and Cadence PCB tools at work. Orcad and Cadence were very similar products at one point, but I never really liked either. That may just be because of 20 + years of driving Eagle and Mentor Graphics.

. . . sharing my thoughts on going forward.
Ive been using Eagle for almost ten years . . . .
At least I have an alternative with Orcad even if it is an old version. . . . can't run on any of the new windows. . . .