Photographic paper and absorption panels- exposing fine art images in listening room

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Good Morning all

I'm a photographer and I want to use my images printed on fine art paper in my listening room as absorption panels by attaching them in front of thick diy panels (or panels made by a pro, that's indifferent).

Format varies from circa 43x75 cm to 110x80cm c.a.

For my artistic work I need to stick to fine art paper like this, which is cellulose based and thick.

Glossy FineArt: Hahnemuhle FineArt

I have no way to use any sonically transparent canvas as mean of printing since that would alter the images' artistic value, plus the pictures I'm exposing are samples to be shown to customers so I need to hang the real ones.

I was told that the above paper would not be suitable at all for audio purposes, so I would like to have some opinions by people with more experience than me ... I want to enjoy my listening room while showing my real work to prospective customers

Assuming the panels you're talking about are porous absorbers (which most are) then any paper obstructing the flow of air into the porous material will reduce their effectiveness. There are other types of room treatment that you could put a photo on (resonant panels / helmholz resonators) but these are usually used across a small bandwidth usually in the low mid / bass region and as such you would need to tune and position them to treat the particular modes of a room, so you'd end up with your pictures in strange places (probably corners).
If you're interested in learning more the BBC website has a lot of research papers on the topic which I assume are available outside the UK.

I would say it depends on weight / m² of the front material, where you place the absorber in the room and the dispersion pattern from your speakers.