diyAudio

diyAudio (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/index.php)
-   Parts (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/parts/)
-   -   how to build a pre using S&B TX-102 transformers (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/parts/48181-build-pre-using-tx-102-transformers.html)

krishu 21st December 2004 12:56 PM

how to build a pre using S&B TX-102 transformers
 
Hi,

so I start this thread now without having much to tell.

Some links which may be helpful first:
S&B TX-102 official page
Hifi NEws (UK) Review
Hifi World (UK) review
audiotweaks bent kit review
audioasylum t.Loesch review
Bent audio ... some schematics etc.

Cheers
Christian.

krishu 21st December 2004 01:09 PM

Bent audio NOH preamp Assembly Photos
Bent audio download page .... schematics
Bent audio: TX-102 primary wiring schematic .... about +0dB and +6dB
bent audio: complete schematic with RCA and XLR inputs and outputs ... everything else

Cheers
Christian.

Badge 21st December 2004 03:03 PM

Thanks for the info. I am still interested in a remote control for volume. Perhaps one using FET switches for each step.

krishu 21st December 2004 03:06 PM

Hi,

easiest in my opinion is to use a rotary switch and a standard remote control kit in combination with a small DC motor and belt instead of motorized pot. A solution using relays is too big I guess.

Cheers
Christian.

wytco0 21st December 2004 05:20 PM

Great to see a build thread up for the TX102's, thanks krishu.

I got mine yesteday but I wont be able to start to build anything until later in January. At the moment I am not sure how I will approach my Pre Amp. I am looking forward to seeing other builders ideas.

I would also love a remote control solution but I dont want to do anything to compromise the sound quality.

Is there such a thing as a motorised multi position switch that we could use, I like the idea of a switch driven by a belt as it should be possible to keep the control system almost completly removed from the passive volume control. However I dont like the idea of making such a thing!! unless someone else could work out how to do it ;-)

PS I notice my transformers have different coloured wires, one has mostly black the other mostly white, is that significant?

Stocker 21st December 2004 05:33 PM

Krishu, relays can be had with exterior dimensions of less than 2cm on a side.

ThorstenL 21st December 2004 05:33 PM

Konnichiwa,

Quote:

Originally posted by wytco0
PS I notice my transformers have different coloured wires, one has mostly black the other mostly white, is that significant?
That is intentional. One transformer is for L the other for R. Using different colours makes the wire spagetti a little better to work through.

Sayonara

wytco0 21st December 2004 05:58 PM

Thanks KYW, from speaking to JB yesterday I know you know a lot about these designs ;-)

mcs 21st December 2004 08:48 PM

Quote:

Originally posted by krishu
A solution using relays is too big I guess.
What's too big for you? I got everything to fit on a single euroboard (16*10cm) using standard sized relays, or you could use squadras layout using four 8*5cm boards.

You can see the layout of my board here: http://electronics.dantimax.dk/Kits/11021716092.html

The price could get lower with a groupbuy...

Best regards,

Mikkel C. Simonsen

Gregm 22nd December 2004 09:17 AM

Quote:

Originally posted by Krishu
use a rotary switch and a standard remote control kit in combination with a small DC motor and belt
Have you found sourcing for the motor & remote? It seems that there's also a matter of torque involved...
Otherwise, the "mechanical remote" seems indeed to be a simpler solution.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 17.65%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2018 diyAudio

Wiki