diyAudio

diyAudio (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/index.php)
-   Multi-Way (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi-way/)
-   -   want to do an OB design, first one. (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi-way/374894-ob-design.html)

sv572 21st July 2021 10:55 PM

want to do an OB design, first one.

Hello gentlemen. I would like some input on an ob system. my budget is around
$500 for drivers and crossover parts. would like a mtm design suggestions. $$ is flexible. I would also like to know if anyone has used the 10 inch dipole from

speaker addict?

ok lets hear it:umbrella:

Pano 22nd July 2021 03:47 AM

If you are planning an first OB on a budget, I suggest you have a look at this thread.
Fast, fun, Inexpensive OB project

Some of the recent posts will give you an idea of the sound. In the post post there are links to the current versions.

sv572 22nd July 2021 06:08 PM

first ob speaker build

Thank you for responding. I studied that speaker thread yesterday. I'm looking for
something a little more than that one. My budget is more flexible than that i guess. My past designs and builds have been a few three ways, some bookshelves, but mostly MTM, some floor standing, some with separate subs.
I'm really interested in a OB MTM with a soft or silk dome tweeter or maybe a
planar. Any suggestions, advice, input or experiences are welcomed. Good or bad.
Thank you Sir,
patiently awaiting

benb
sv572

classicalfan 22nd July 2021 06:30 PM

Here you go. Paul Carmody's Sunflower. MTM OB hybrid.

Paul Carmody's DIY Speaker Pages - Dipole and Open-Baffle

Pano 22nd July 2021 09:02 PM

You have mentioned MTM and a budget, but what are your other goals? SPL? Efficiency? Baffle size? Woofer size? Bass extension?

classicalfan 22nd July 2021 10:56 PM

I agree with Pano. You are attempting to define a solution without first defining the problem.

An MTM OB may or may not be what you want. It depends on what your goals are.

Pano 23rd July 2021 04:10 AM