PS for linestage tube pre-amp (12b4)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
So I'm working on a 12b4 based low-mu preamp design. I'm pretty new to the DIY audio world, but I've kind of fallen in head first. I have a lot of electronics experience, but not with tube power supplies.

Anyway, here is a schematic that I've been working on. It's a 320V main, with a 6.3V DC heater supply (biased up by 38V, which apparently the 12b4 tubes like). I decided to go with a voltage doubler on the 6.3VAC winding so I'd have enough overhead for the 1085 regulator.

I'd really appreciate some advice/guidance from those of you with some experience here. There are two things that I'm not sure about right off the bat:
1) Is the filtering on the 320V side sufficient?
2) Should I build in some delay to let the tubes warm up before applying the 320V. Right now B+ biases up faster than the 6.3V.

Thanks!

Attachments

• PS_schematic.png
    PS_schematic.png
    49.7 KB · Views: 200
Joined 2011
I would add a small resistor between the doubler and the 10,000uF capacitor.
Size it to drop 3-4 volts, but it will dissipate more power than that due to
dropping the ripple voltage also. This will reduce the ripple a lot.

Last edited:

PRR

Joined 2003
Paid Member
A ruff calculation suggests you won't hit anything like 16.6V into the regulator. Maybe not even 12.0V, with enough ripple to embarrass a line-amp.

Also a 1N4007 burns-up on rms current.

When using Silicon rectifiers, if you have a choice 6.3V or a higher heater voltage, always go higher. Given 12B4, I'd even run both in series at 24V, a standard SMPS rating.

@rayma
The resistor between the doubler and the big filter cap is good, thanks. I'm not totally sure how to calculate the drop there, but it seems like anything less than maybe 50R would work.

@PRR