diyAudio

diyAudio (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/index.php)
-   Analog Line Level (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/analog-line-level/)
-   -   relay as source selector - pop issues (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/analog-line-level/340179-relay-source-selector-pop-issues.html)

rottalpha 13th July 2019 07:32 AM

relay as source selector - pop issues
 
Apologies in advance if this was covered in a different thread.

I am trying to tame the pops when using a selector relay to switch between two audio inputs.

The problem I am looking to solve is that every time I switch the signal sources, I get the dreaded pops form the relay. This happens with no signal applied and even when the inputs are shorted with RCA caps. There is no coupling cap on either inputs.

I am using a fly-back diode (1N914) with a 10ohm series resistor right on the relay coil, but still no difference.
I also tried separating the coil supply and powered the relay via a 9v battery. That did not help either.

This is the relay type I am using:
G6SK-2 DC12 Omron Electronics | Mouser

has anyone encountered this issue and resolved it. I am pulling hairs here trying to get rid of the pops. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you in advance,

Peter

RickTH 13th July 2019 09:21 AM

From my experience that comes from Elektor preAmp designs :
Every time you switch between an input , you switch off the line output relay for a moment . That way , pops and clicks are surpressed to the next stage . (power amp or HP amp). Of course your line out should be DC free or there might be a pop too ...

Nisbeth 13th July 2019 09:51 AM

Could you show the circuit? Are you switching grounds as well? It sounds like you have a DC imbalanced between the sources, but of course that should not happen with the inputs shorted?

DF96 13th July 2019 10:59 AM

To avoid switching pops you need to ensure that the inputs and output from the relay contacts are all at the same DC level. This usually means coupling caps and ground leak resistors need to be present.

Chris Daly 13th July 2019 01:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rottalpha (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/analog-line-level/340179-relay-source-selector-pop-issues-post5850527.html#post5850527)
Apologies in advance if this was covered in a different thread.

I am trying to tame the pops when using a selector relay to switch between two audio inputs.

The problem I am looking to solve is that every time I switch the signal sources, I get the dreaded pops form the relay. This happens with no signal applied and even when the inputs are shorted with RCA caps. There is no coupling cap on either inputs.

I am using a fly-back diode (1N914) with a 10ohm series resistor right on the relay coil, but still no difference.
I also tried separating the coil supply and powered the relay via a 9v battery. That did not help either.

This is the relay type I am using:
G6SK-2 DC12 Omron Electronics | Mouser

has anyone encountered this issue and resolved it. I am pulling hairs here trying to get rid of the pops. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you in advance,

Peter

Hi Peter
Contact- less methods of switching are what you need to resolve the issue.

mickeymoose 13th July 2019 02:55 PM

+1 for post 4
Replace the 1N914, a small signal diode, with an 1N400x and do not use a resistor in series with the diode. E

rottalpha 13th July 2019 03:04 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nisbeth (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/analog-line-level/340179-relay-source-selector-pop-issues-post5850607.html#post5850607)
Could you show the circuit? Are you switching grounds as well? It sounds like you have a DC imbalanced between the sources, but of course that should not happen with the inputs shorted?

one line is is directly coupled to the driver circuit input, with nothing in between but the relay contact, the other line has coupling caps and pots....but even after removing the caps and posts then shorting everything to ground from the input side, I do get the pops...no change

tried a resistor in series with the flyback diode and D+R across the coil, tried a resistor in series with the coil and flyback diode across the coil...no avail

rottalpha 13th July 2019 03:08 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by RickTH (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/analog-line-level/340179-relay-source-selector-pop-issues-post5850590.html#post5850590)
From my experience that comes from Elektor preAmp designs :
Every time you switch between an input , you switch off the line output relay for a moment . That way , pops and clicks are surpressed to the next stage . (power amp or HP amp). Of course your line out should be DC free or there might be a pop too ...

yes, I think that switching the line out would solve the issue, but it would mean adding to the circuit with some type of sequence timer, right?

rottalpha 13th July 2019 03:12 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by DF96 (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/analog-line-level/340179-relay-source-selector-pop-issues-post5850634.html#post5850634)
To avoid switching pops you need to ensure that the inputs and output from the relay contacts are all at the same DC level. This usually means coupling caps and ground leak resistors need to be present.

I have tried ground leak resistors on both inputs. I will dig more into your suggestion.
Do you have more specifics or a reference circuit?

rottalpha 13th July 2019 03:13 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chris Daly (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/analog-line-level/340179-relay-source-selector-pop-issues-post5850765.html#post5850765)
Hi Peter
Contact- less methods of switching are what you need to resolve the issue.

you mean some sort of an octocoupler? would you please elaborate?


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:44 PM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 17.65%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2019 diyAudio

Wiki