diyAudio

diyAudio (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/index.php)
-   Full Range (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/full-range/)
-   -   Dallas II build - Phase shift? (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/full-range/340142-dallas-ii-build-phase-shift.html)

WayneAudio 12th July 2019 11:15 AM

Dallas II build - Phase shift?

4 Attachment(s)
Hi All - I'm a COMPLETE NOVICE - throwing myself in at the deep end by building the Dallas II's and will be using the 208ez (sigma) and T90a super tweeter.

For the T90a, I will be using an MDF 'tunnel' - purely for aesthetics (and to keep the wife happy!). This tunnel design for the tweeter is not open for debate / critique.

However, I would like to know from you guys if there is anything I should be genuinely worried about regarding phase alignment / shift? I found the attached image about phase-shift which was simple enough for even me to understand. In short - If you were me, would you look to set the super tweeter tunnel back a little so that it better aligns with the 208ez (albeit completely messing with mine and my Wife's OCD by not sitting flush with the baffle!)?

If having the T90a tunnel flush with 208ez is going to cause no-to-very little issue, then I'm keeping it as planned!!!

I've also attached some photos of pretty much where i'd got to with the Dallas II's so you can see what I'm aiming for here.

Many thanks!

Scottmoose 12th July 2019 12:56 PM

Well, the acoustical centre of the voice coils (a somewhat nebulous concept) should be physically aligned if you don't want to do it electrically.

I'm not going to critique the design of your 'tunnel' for the T90a, other than say however that if you're going to stick it in that thing, in all honesty you'd be better off not bothering with it at all. We're not talking 'a bit of a compromise' here; we're talking affecting behaviour so badly that it will almost certainly sound worse than if you do without.

WayneAudio 12th July 2019 01:13 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Quote: