diyAudio

diyAudio (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/index.php)
-   Equipment & Tools (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/equipment-and-tools/)
-   -   120Hz hum in my amp, and here is a scope picture. (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/equipment-and-tools/335717-120hz-hum-amp-scope-picture.html)

Hextejas 25th March 2019 04:38 AM

120Hz hum in my amp, and here is a scope picture.

1 Attachment(s)
I am trying to find the source of the 120Hz buzz coming out of my speakers. At least I think it is 120. Anyhow I disconnected all input to the amp and connected the end of the speaker cable to one of the inputs to the scope. The other input to the scope has a 120Hz from a signal generator. Be aware that I am a total newbie to this and I don't really know what I am seeing on the scope from the amp. I expected a much cleaner picture.
So, am I going about this in the correct manner ?
If not, which is likely, please guide me.

gabdx 25th March 2019 04:44 AM

It's easy.

60hz is your AC. This can pollute your ground and your amplifier circuit.

120hz is a byproduct of rectification. Rectification is turning the 60hz into a 0hz signal, pure + and ground. or - and ground.

So this comes from the amplifier power supply or a power supply nearby.

1audio 25th March 2019 05:29 AM

It looks as though either the input of the amp is open or the amp is oscillating. You must short the input to get a meaningful reading of the hum.

Hextejas 25th March 2019 10:53 AM

Thank you audio, but being the newbie that I am, I am not clear exactly how to do this. I have had it suggested to me before and it had me scratching my head. I have 2 posts dealing with the signal in.
They are:
1) SIG IN
And
2) SIG GND
Am I to run a jumper between these 2 or run a jumper from SIG IN and the chassis ?

Hextejas 25th March 2019 10:56 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gabdx (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/equipment-and-tools/335717-120hz-hum-amp-scope-picture-post5740029.html#post5740029)
It's easy.