Any experiences with Faital 12PR320 : 12" driver for 40-500 Hz

Hello,

For my two (or three) way speaker, I have search for a 12" driver with a sensibility of 95 dB / W / M for a boxe around 100L.

Actually my design is :
- Faital Pro 12PR320, 12" drivers : 0 to 500 Hz inside 110L
- Fostex FE208EZ : 500 Hz to 20 kHz with corrective RLC inside ~8L

I have "found" the Faital Pro 12PR320 drivers, release in 2017, so relatively new. Is there any one tried it ? did you know any review or test ?

Importants datas was for me :
- sensitivity
- Fs : 42 Hz
- Mmms (low mobile stuff) : 51.4 g
- Xmax : 7.37 mm
- Vas : 98.4 L

The link : FaitalPRO | LF Loudspeakers | 12PR320

And the response from the manufacturer :

Attachments

• Faital Pro PR320 Freq.png
    Faital Pro PR320 Freq.png
    115.2 KB · Views: 1,574
I have no experience with this driver.

But it simulates really well. I get -3db at 43hz and -5db at 29hz in 108 liters, 8 msec group delay at 40hz, should sound really nice and "tight".
110 liters you say? Did you try crunching the numbers?
What measurements/outer dimensions are you going for?

I would probably settle for somewhere around 200hz xo.

Hello,

@Mctavish : Thank you, great news :)

@KaffiMann : I'm in the process to learn thing. I have done some simulation, with the help on a local forum here. 94 or 108 L seems good. I have the event and the box sizing.

But .... I can have .... a pair of good old bass drivers WS 33 NG with the boxes for the price of one 12PR320 .... I think to start with thoses WS33NG and in a future build a boxes with 12PR320.

Regards,

the 2 drivers you picked are very different in character.
i love faital drivers, but in your case the 12" faital will not add much to the picture.
i would pick a 12" subwoofer driver under the fostex and cross much lower (~100hz).

if you insist on using a 12" proaudio driver, the only design that makes sense is this:
DTQWT-mkII

Fanatic
Joined 2009
Paid Member