Squeezing maximum gain from one dual op-amp?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,

I'm a beginner and working on a very simple preamp for a mono tape head.
I actually only need one side of the chip to since Im just using a mono head. Is it easy or possible to use the other side of this dual op-amp as an extra gain stage? If so what kind of rules do you generally need to follow?

Thank you!

LA3161-stereo-preamplifier-circuit.png

Last edited:
Joined 2011
Thanks! Would you be able to guide me a little in the direction to make the second gain stage?
Would it involve leaving the first stage as is and then removing the NAB eq from the second stage?

Yes, the only difference would be the feedback network, which becomes just a resistor
instead of the tape eq. For example, short R1 and C1. Change R6 to 750R, for a flat gain
of x11, or +21dB.

Last edited:
Yes, the only difference would be the feedback network, which becomes just a resistor
instead of the tape eq. For example, short R1 and C1. Change R6 to 750R, for a flat gain
of x11, or 21dB.

Sweet! So does that mean when looping back in (say from left output to right input on to the second stage) I could also leave out C10 & C8? Or would it be better to leave them in as extra RF blocking?

Should work.

Do you feel like it matters to have the NAB on the first or second stage in terms of noise? Also will changing my VDC from 12v to 9v affect gain or introduce other issues or even bonuses?

On another subject, what would be the proper way to split the output of this preamp so that it went to both a 1/4" out as well as back into a recording tape head? Would that entail just splitting off to a bias resistor (or trimmer) to lower the level back down to acceptable record level or would you need any additional parts to keep the split in signal more protected? (I hope that makes sense)