Which preamp for Amp Camp?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Guys, newbie here.

I’m in the process of constructing a pair of Amp Camp amps because I’ve been without decent audio equipment for far too long. Cost is a big consideration right now, so I’m ordering and building as my budget allows. I’m currently waiting for custom PCB’s that I designed in KiCad and the heatsinks are on their way too. Next will be the actual components and case.

In the meantime I’m considering my options w.r.t. a preamp. So far, I’ve looked at the following:
Objective2 Headphone preamp
Bride of Zen
Doug Self preamp
New PASS preamp
All are relatively complicated (and maybe too expensive) as a first build. Therefore I’m leaning towards a quick and dirty solution for now. Maybe something simple off eBay, like the LME49720+Shield+ALPS Potentiometer stereo preamplifier kit.

Or the DIY X29F Single-ended DC Class A preamplifier kit stereo preamp kit.

What really bothers me is that I don’t know what specs to look for in a preamp. I have read that an output of about 3V is required to drive the ACA’s to full power, but very few spec sheets give output voltage. I’ve seen the O2, B1 and BOZ being recommended for use with the Amp Camps.

This is really a difficult decision for me. Obviously, I need something that would do the new amps justice, but without breaking the bank or being a major construction project.

Any guidance and/or recommendations will be appreciated.

Hi Guys, newbie here.

What really bothers me is that I don’t know what specs to look for in a preamp. I have read that an output of about 3V is required to drive the ACA’s to full power, .

This is not correct.
The ACA has 14dB of gain, 1.7V peak at the input of the ACA will have the amp clipping.
A buffer preamp is the most sensible choice if you are using cd/dac.

Try with just a Buffer instead of a pre-amplifier.