moode vs volumio vs runeaudio

Are they all the same? I was using Volumio version 1.X and am considering upgrading to version 2.

Why is the Moode thread on here so popular? Am i missing something? I thought they were all the same at base level?

It always upset me at the lack of rich graphical support for MPD players. I wanted nice scrolling through album artwork on my android but only found contata on PC or Mac that looked good.

Have things moved on?

Stu

moode, volumio and rune all started from the same project in the past. But there are some differences in how the programs are evolving with new features.
My personal favourite is moOde audio because i like the way the cover-art, internet radio stations and the playlist are integrated in the play screen.
But all three are great pieces of software.

I am no software developer, but i think what you want, a rich graphical gui to control the audio player, is a bit much to ask from a headless audio player running on a small computer. Remember that the whole user interface of these kind of MPD players is brought to your screen using a standard web browser.
I think you should look into players "with a head". That is software that doesn't relay on a web interface, but shows the userinterface on a screen directly connected to your music computer. Maybe kodi (Kodi | Open Source Home Theatre Software) is a suitable candidate for you? I don't have experience with kodi myself, but it looks promising.

After having tried all three, I prefer RuneAudio over the other two.
Rune is a lot faster to start up, shut down and index the library than both others.
The interface of moode is nice on PC, but too cluttered on phone/tablet, especially with a long playlist.
Functionally, they are all very similar, but the speed and clean interface of Rune make it the winner for me personally.