diyAudio

diyAudio (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/index.php)
-   AKSA (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/aksa/)
-   -   AKSA 100 N+ the hum the hum! (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/aksa/269010-aksa-100-hum-hum.html)

Erskib 2nd February 2015 12:42 AM

AKSA 100 N+ the hum the hum!
 
Hey all,

Well after an 8 (really!) year hiatus, I finally got around to hooking up my AKSA once again and while it was working like a charm previously, boy does it have some hum now! I went through all the setup diagnostics (yep, still have all the original documentation) and everything is within spec. So I can only assume one or more of the "factory original" caps in the PS has gone bad? Anything you guys can recommend I check before I pull out the soldering iron?

Glad to read you are still kicking and well on the mend Hugh, a lot of water has passed under the bridge for all of us in the interregnum!

Cheers,

Glen
(AKA EchiDna in a time long past!)

AKSA 2nd February 2015 07:18 AM

Hi Glen,

Welcome back, it's been a long time! Still in Singapore, ever coming home?

Yes, short the inputs to ground, turn on, and if the hum is evident, it's 90% chance it's been the filter caps. If you have a CRO, you will see, but it's almost certain.

Still upright, walking wounded, but not terminal!! (in the spirit of our PM just today in the media.......)

Happy New Year to you and your family!

Cheers,

Hugh

Erskib 2nd February 2015 07:25 AM

Thanks Hugh, yep still in Singapore but having spent a lot of time in the middle east in Saudi Arabia last year, I am very happy to be home and regaining some sense of normality again! I'l never say I won't return to Melbourne, but as per your previous news post on the webpage, the oz economy isn't in the best shape to be considering it right now!

Just to be clear, my star ground is not connected to mains ground, but is connected to the chassis. should I disconnect the RCA input wires (both) and run them to chassis?

cheers,

Glen

AKSA 2nd February 2015 08:10 AM

Glen,

You could do that, BUT, it didn't cause hum before, did it? Have you changed your source?

Hugh

Erskib 2nd February 2015 08:17 AM

Hi Hugh,

The star ground was connected to mains ground when built, but disconnected after testing - I never removed the wire though...

Once I get home from work, I'll try connecting the input ground to the star ground and see what the response is. The hum is very loud even with nothing connected to the inputs at all. Sorry to say, I haven't got an oscilloscope...

The main reason for starting it up again was the gift of a bluetooth audio module I intend to integrate into my GK-1 (eventually), but for now, I just want the power amp to operate properly and phase 2 is to get the GK-1 back into service with the bluetooth as a source for network streaming experiments. ;-)

AKSA 2nd February 2015 09:55 AM

Glen,

Do let me know your tests....... it is possible it is a filter cap because if you remove the input RCAs the hum is still intrusive. However, it is unusual for ALL caps to dry out at the same time, so I would expect one channel to be worse than other........

Let us know!

Hugh

rabbitz 3rd February 2015 04:48 AM

Had a similar problem with a DIY amp that wasn't used for years. Turned out it was some corrosion on the chassis so the ground connection wasn't making a good contact. Try a DMM at various points to the mains earth such as heatsink, speaker ground etc to ensure good continuity. I never run a signal ground directly to the chassis (power or pre) and I think on the AKSA there's a resistor for the signal ground.

I found on my AKSAs, connecting the star ground to the mains earth via a 10R resistor / reverse diode network worked the best for lowest hum but other builder do not use this connection with good results.

AKSA 3rd February 2015 06:57 AM

Thank you Pierre AND Ginger!

(Back to the future......)

Much appreciate both your advice to Glen......

Hugh

Erskib 3rd February 2015 07:08 AM

thanks for the extra info and thoughts gents... I didn't get a chance to look at it last night. corrosion here is the norm - I'll clean it up and have a go tonight (with a bit of luck).

cheers,

Glen

gingertube 3rd February 2015 09:14 PM

I had a similar priblem on a 55N+.
Eventually found the 10 Ohm resistor which "isolates" the ground side of the input was blown open circuit. You might want to check that resistor with a multimeter before delving too deep.
Cheers,
Ian


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 17.65%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2020 diyAudio

Wiki