Class D Stereo Amp in Mono?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,
I am new to this so please excuse my ignorance. I have a two channel Class D amplifier but only need to run one channel. Will it damage the amp to leave one channel unused? The amp is a Sure Electronics TDA7498 2x100 watt. Thank you in advance for any feedback.
Jeff

You should ground the input of the unused channel and check the filter components for geneated heat. If they get hot after some minutes i suppose to not leave the output open. (If the output filter components are getting hot, it might help to put a 4ohms resistor with a 33uh coil in series at the output)

There shouldnt be any problems, as this amp has an output filter. More care has to be taken when running in a filterless configuration.

Do you think, its a good idea to put output filters in parallel without changing their values?

Yes.

You should either parallel the outputs before the filter and change the values, or parallel after the filter and leave the values as they are.

In most cases there will be no negative effect of paralleling outputs after the filter on relatively low output amps such as is discussed here.

And in any case, leaving a channel unused will have far greater negative effects than tying the inputs and outputs together.

Last edited:
Last edited:
What are you talking about? Space weather?

That's replying to this question.

Please also refer to this excellent guide that describes those output filter components that needs changing if you want anything resembling the promised performance.

Trevor Marshall - Class D Audio Amplifier Design - TDA7498 Output filters
Output
Are you trying to be funny?

The 7498E is, compared to the 7498, designed to be run in mono mode. Thats why you parallel the outputs before the filter. The 7498 is not.