diyAudio

diyAudio (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/index.php)
-   Analogue Source (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/analogue-source/)
-   -   How Can I connect A Balanced RIAA Phono Pre-Amp to a Phono Plug amp input (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/analogue-source/187652-connect-balanced-riaa-phono-pre-amp-phono-plug-amp-input.html)

jmartinbaugh 23rd April 2011 09:46 AM

How Can I connect A Balanced RIAA Phono Pre-Amp to a Phono Plug amp input
 
Help wanted

I am a NOOB with regard to amplifier electronics I can solder a circuit together but I am lost when it comes to electronic theory. I have a Balanced Phono Pre-amp kit which has XLR output sockets. Pin 1 = Ground. Pin 2 = +. Pin 3 =-. and Pin 4 = CH with an earth signe marked PE. My Amplifier has standard Phono input sockets. Any help or advice would be most welcome with regard to connecting the Balanced Phono Pre-amp.

Many thanks

Martin

Bestfreak 24th April 2011 11:30 AM

Hi
It is easy.... In proffesional Audio they keep the balanced line as long as possible so in the phono plug you go to unbalanced by soldering the 3- pole to the ground.

Some say you should solder the 2+ pole to the ground. They never ever wil agree... So in my humble opinion 2+ is a + pole and therefore should be handled that way.

Kind regards and happy soldering

Auke

jmartinbaugh 25th April 2011 06:59 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bestfreak (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/analogue-source/187652-connect-balanced-riaa-phono-pre-amp-phono-plug-amp-input-post2549217.html#post2549217)
Hi
It is easy.... In proffesional Audio they keep the balanced line as long as possible so in the phono plug you go to unbalanced by soldering the 3- pole to the ground.

Some say you should solder the 2+ pole to the ground. They never ever wil agree... So in my humble opinion 2+ is a + pole and therefore should be handled that way.

Kind regards and happy soldering

Auke

Many thanks I will solder the - wire on pin 3 to the outer screen which goes to ground.

Best wishes

Martin

Bestfreak 25th April 2011 01:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmartinbaugh (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/analogue-source/187652-connect-balanced-riaa-phono-pre-amp-phono-plug-amp-input-post2550154.html#post2550154)
Many thanks I will solder the - wire on pin 3 to the outer screen which goes to ground.

Best wishes

Martin

Hi Martin,
hope it works for you... Forgot 1 thing..... using an Balnce to Unbalnce trannis or circuit would be the best way to go But ads an other step and components in the total circuit of reproduction......

Kind regards

Auke


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 17.65%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2020 diyAudio

Wiki