diyAudio

diyAudio (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/index.php)
-   Multi-Way (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi-way/)
-   -   DIY loudspeaker cable (https://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi-way/178739-diy-loudspeaker-cable.html)

Adam Bernau 8th December 2010 09:25 AM

DIY loudspeaker cable

Hi guys,
I have some interesting experience wit DIY loudspeaker cable made from two RG 213 cables, and the cable was very interesting and in terms of subjective listening and blind tests the result was comparable to some very expensive ones. Now i am searching for some more decent, smaller diameter DIY cable for my small speakers (preferably smaller diameter than the garden hose of the previous). I have read about using some phone cables but i have difficulties to find any DIY speaker cable on this pages.

So i have decided to ask you, DIY colleagues for help, or "insider tip".
Any recomendations will be welcomed, thank you and merry Christmas !

soongsc 8th December 2010 03:18 PM

not phone cables, cat 5e/cat 6

LAJ 8th December 2010 03:38 PM

RG 213 probably overkill.

I use heavy duty zip cord. Its probably 14 gauge. Its worked very well for me.

JBCobra 8th December 2010 03:49 PM

1 Attachment(s)
Whipped these up. Seem to sound pretty good

sdclc126 8th December 2010 03:58 PM

Overkill

I don't mean to rain on your parade, but DIY cable IMHO is only for the satisfaction of having made it yourself, not for sound improvement.

This is a subject hot for debate, but cables don't distort signals, therefore they don't affect what you hear. One of the greatest rip-offs of audio is boutique cables - ones costing hundreds to thousands of dollars, and to my knowledge there has never been any scientific evidence that they improve sound. In order for cable A to sound better than cable B, cable A must be audibly distorting the signal, and cable B less so. I have never seen any data to support this.