Built a 250W SMPS, possible to modify?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I know this isn't quite the same thing but the horizontal circuit of a TV requires a very fast turn on but the turn off isn't as important. That why I'm a bit unsure of what is required for a fet.

I've been reading SWITCHMODE™ Power Supply Reference Manual (SMPSRM-D.pdf) by on-semi, hence why I have implemted that design into my schematic. I will put the circuit you posted earlier in my schematic so when build I don't have :bawling: from toasted fets.

Is it required to have a cap in series in the secondary of the drive transfomer?

Agin, I'm still learning here so all your paciance and advice is extremly appriciated.

P.S: Hey Eva :innocent: :innocent: could you post or re-serve those pictures?

Thanks

Dave.

Let's not go off-topic... :D

I put the current sense transformer in series with the center point of the capacitors and the main transformer. On overload it limits the current (but doesn't shutdown? I haven't really tried overloading it THAT much).

However, if I short the output and THEN power it on, it (correctly) does not start... what it doesn't survive is a short AFTER power on...

Here're some shots of the gate drive waveform... directly on the primary (HV) side of the driver transformer. Note! Don't do this unless your scope has isolated inputs!

The spike looks worrying... what could be causing it? The circuit seems to be limiting the maximum duty cycle (the voltage starts to drop on overload) but it doesn't shut off.

1) No load

Attachments

• noload.jpg
    noload.jpg
    44.5 KB · Views: 560
3) Overload (6x 12V 50W halogen bulbs)

Of course I could just make sure I don't short circuit the output... :D
Also what could be causing the little "ripple" during the off time? It's not causing any stray turn-ons of the FETs though...
I might use a proper RM core for the next project...

Attachments