USB PD - Power delivery

As todays consumer electronics has growing number of USB type-C Power Delivery support, and chargers are also available, I am considring this as an option, at least for headphone amplifier use.

Because I have little experience in this topic, I would like to ask You, what do You think about this, and whether having PD power supply for DIY audio projects does have any benefits or drownbacks.

According to TIs website, there are ICs available with support of 20V 5A, as PD supports 100W delivery. One problem could be using the QFN packages.

It would be possible to make a modern universal PSU for low demand projects, with little space needed.

My work setup has evolved to use one cable.
I can charge my laptop, and have external monitor the same time. If I need to charge my phone, I plug in the same cable. Then it would be obvious, to plug in a headphone amplifier for example when I need it.

Does anybody have experience with PD? Opinions are highly welcome as well. :)

PRR

Joined 2003
Paid Member
A 240W (on one port!) USB was announced last week.

240W USB - Google Search
USB-C 2.1, 48V/5A

Some years ago I heard tell of a standard for 48V/96VDC as a household outlet. When we go totally in-house solar/wind via batteries. I think inverter technology/price leapfrogged this so 115VAC/230VAC may remain the standard appliance/lights/toys power.

Last edited: