Something wierd!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm not sure where it's best to post this, but since it relates to transformers I'll post it here.

So, I swapped transformers in a headphone amplifier, from classic E-shape core type to a toroidal.

Voltage ratings are same on both, while current on the secondaries is rated @1.5A for the E-type and @0.7A for the toroidal.

I did this for size considerations, since the toroidal is smaller.

Now comes the wierd part:

I decided to do recordings before and after the swap, just for the heck of it.
I didn't expect much, but to my surprise the damn thing sounds different.
Particularly the soundstage width.
It sounds a bit more wide.

Granted, the difference is small.
Yet, with a good pair of headphones and some concentration from my part, it's audible.

I'm no electronic engineer or an expert, so I'm clueless whether this is to be expected, explainable or even possible.

Oh! There's something even more wierd:

I decided to do an additional recording on the new toroidal after a couple of days of continuous use.

Listening and comparing the recordings, I noticed that the sound has changed further. Like it has 'evolved' a bit further.
Again, the soundstage width was a bit more expanded.
The change this time is to a lesser degree than after the swap, but it's still detectable by my ears.

So, what is the deal here?
Either I'm imagining things or there's a real phenomenon.
A so-called 'burn-in' on the transformer(?).
This alone happens to affect the sound(?).

Any thoughts will be appreciated and forgive me if I miss something that I should know.

Last edited:
A better power supply could lead to hearing better channel separation due to less distortion or noise common to both channels.

That makes some sense to me.

But what about the 'burn-in'(?).
Is there a plausible explanation?