Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

[offtopic] need it for a led lamp.
[offtopic] need it for a led lamp.
[offtopic] need it for a led lamp. Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th October 2019, 08:25 PM   #1
e3k is offline e3k
diyAudio Member
 
e3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Earth
Default [offtopic] need it for a led lamp.

i upgraded to LEDs last year. i did know that the light can be bit shaky due to AC/DC conversion.


the lamp has a module of questionable origin with parameters on the output 700mA 34-47V.


is there some other power supply with more stable Voltage you could recommend me?


I am thinking right now about to dismantle some old audio PS and to use it there.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2019, 06:51 PM   #2
ubergeeknz is offline ubergeeknz  New Zealand
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
LEDs are current driven devices. You want to limit current and not worry too much about the exact voltage (as the required voltage varies).
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2019, 07:25 PM   #3
e3k is offline e3k
diyAudio Member
 
e3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Earth
well in my opinion you want to have a stable power supply. the wire based bulbs stabilize the light output trough inertia of the heat of the wire.


leds in oposite are able to emit changes in the electrical signal much more quicker.


that is why you need a really calm machine. a battery would be ideal.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2019, 07:30 PM   #4
ubergeeknz is offline ubergeeknz  New Zealand
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
LEDs require a stable current source. A small change in voltage through an LED equates to a large change in current. Yes it needs to be stable but it needs to have stable current, not a fixed voltage.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2019, 07:33 PM   #5
e3k is offline e3k
diyAudio Member
 
e3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by ubergeeknz View Post
LEDs require a stable current source. A small change in voltage through an LED equates to a large change in current. Yes it needs to be stable but it needs to have stable current, not a fixed voltage.
i have only a voltmeter to measure it.
this is how it looks like. i mean just from the visual observation you might think this is cheap shaky China: power supply for a led lamp - Album on Imgur
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2019, 07:37 PM   #6
ubergeeknz is offline ubergeeknz  New Zealand
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
What you can do is find the nominal voltage for the LED cob, use a fixed DC supply, then you calculate a suitable ballast resistor to limit current to the desired level.

Probably (I didn't look) the cheap supply is not producing DC but chopping line frequency.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2019, 07:53 PM   #7
e3k is offline e3k
diyAudio Member
 
e3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Earth
i measured now the voltage when turned on and shining. 51,5V.
did not manage the Amperes as am not sure about the settings of the device.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2019, 07:55 PM   #8
ubergeeknz is offline ubergeeknz  New Zealand
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Your meter have a current setting? I would measure that, then you have a good starting point.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2019, 07:56 PM   #9
ubergeeknz is offline ubergeeknz  New Zealand
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Just to make sure as I don't know your level of knowledge - current reading needs to be done in series ie. You will need to break the connection.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2019, 07:57 PM   #10
e3k is offline e3k
diyAudio Member
 
e3k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Earth
Quote:
Originally Posted by ubergeeknz View Post
Your meter have a current setting? I would measure that, then you have a good starting point.
my meter has but i am have no practice with this. you have to switch the red cable from position mA to 10A... further the lamp blinked once i was measuring i don't want to screw things up.


what exactly should i setup on the meter to measure ~700mA?


-add yes i have done it in series that was ok...
  Reply With Quote

Reply


[offtopic] need it for a led lamp.Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
offtopic, but I respect the opinions found here mrpopgun Everything Else 11 27th December 2006 01:29 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 14.29%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2019 diyAudio
Wiki