Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

First Linear Power Supply Build Questions
First Linear Power Supply Build Questions
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 21st August 2019, 03:24 AM   #1
LateraLiz is offline LateraLiz  United States
diyAudio Member

Default First Linear Power Supply Build Questions

Hi All!

I'm sort of new to the DIY audio and electronics scene, and this site has been providing me with a wealth of useful information for my journey thus far.

I have decided to build my own linear regulated power supply to provide the power I will need for an upcoming headphone amp I will be building. Since I'm no pro, I was hoping I could get some feedback on my design before building it, just in case I made some catastrophic mistakes in my design or anything like that. Its pretty simple and based off the LM317 adjustable voltage regulator. Most of the schematic is based on the information found in the LM317 datasheet. The requirements I have for this build is a clean source of about 30VDC at the output. I did the calculations and came up with the details and design listed on the attached photo of the schematic.

If anyone has a moment to look the schematic over for any mistakes or to give any feedback or criticisms of the design, I would be immensely grateful. Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpeg ps-schematic.jpeg (751.2 KB, 403 views)
Old 21st August 2019, 04:20 AM   #2
rayma is offline rayma  United States
diyAudio Member

The DC voltage on C1 should be around 32.5VDC at nominal AC line.
This means there should be more drop across the LM317 for good regulation,
mfr says 3V minimum under worst case, with low line. As is, I would only
expect 27VDC out with low line.