Why did it fry?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I’m sure I’m missing something obvious, but I’m quite new to this...

I’m building an Elliott Sound Products P05 mini power supply for the ESP riaa pre-amp . I think I might have hooked it up to the transformer wrong. It showed a good voltage when it had no load, but as soon as I tried to hook it to the pre-amp, resistors 1 & 2 started getting overheated. I’ve replaced R1 and R2.

Transformer outputs 2x15VAC @25VA - see pictures
8D543FEB-1DE5-45AE-B9D0-37248FC3BBD9.png

I hooked black and orange to AC1, yellow and red to AC2, and gnd to chassis ground.
91A31174-5071-4C50-B5C9-401DEFD9B53E.jpg
2C262325-956F-4785-93EF-A283AB91C8DB.jpg

Questions I have:
1a. How should I hook it up to the transformer?
1b. Should I use a 15-0-15 transformer instead?
2. Should I replace other components, too?
3. Could it have something to do with the phono preamp circuit?

Thanks in advance.

You have a dual secondary transformer. The schematic shows a wiring diagram to cover both a single supply and a centre tapped transformer. You can make your transformer a centre tapped by joining the Red+Org wires, then use the Blk+ Yel for the 2 feeds AC1 + AC2 and the joined wires for Grd.

Administrator
Joined 2007
Paid Member
I would wire the transformer as Puffin suggests and then recheck the output voltages off load as you did before.

A phono preamp should draw minimal current and so at this point it does sound like there could be an error somewhere as you connected it all up.

You can use a bulb tester even on such a small supply as this, try a very low wattage one like a fridge lamp. That should prevent major damage and overheating.

Similarly, check you have wired the primary correctly.
for US 115v supply, Violet & Brown connect together & go to live: Blue & Grey connect together & go to neutral.